Pulp Fiction.

So then, Film No.1. Pulp Fiction.

Film Information: 

Director: Quentin Tarantino
Writer: Quentin Tarantino & Roger Avery
Release Date: 1994
Starring: John Travolta, Samuel L. Jackson, Uma Thurman, Bruce Willis

Review: 

I thought I’d start with a movie that I’d heard a lot about, in the hope it would live up to its reputation. I think now I can say that it definitely did. An insane, funny, violent whirlwind of a movie, I absolutely loved it. Also, more importantly, I understand so many memes now!

On a serious note though, the characters were incredibly interesting and I really connected with them and their stories, which allowed for a phenomenally immersive cinematic experience. Shot in an extremely stylish way with an awesome soundtrack, this film was a joy to watch. Definitely stands up to all expectations and deserves the praise it gets. The narrative structure of the film I thought allowed me to be fully focused on each evolving story and as such be further immersed.

Critical Reception:

Nominated for 7 Oscars it’s fair to say Pulp Fiction was well received upon its release, winning the Best Writing Oscar. Pulp Fiction currently sits at a very comfy 94% rating on review aggregator Rotten Tomatoes with over 78 reviews giving it an average of 9.1 out of 10.

Empire gave the movie 5/5 stars and its hard to blame them. Pulp Fiction rolls in at Number 5 in their top 100 movies and its remarkably easy to see why.

Rating 

5/5. An amazing piece of crime filmmaking.

Leave a Reply

